EAS Annual Conference 2016

Fuel Poverty Matters
Energy Action Scotland Annual Conference 2016
3 - 4 November, Clydebank

Here you will find the presentations given at the conference, where these have been made available. You will also find a selection of photographs taken at the event below.                                                      

Plenaries on Thursday 3 November

Fuel Poverty in Scotland – Looking to The Way Ahead

Elaine Downie, Co-ordinator and Caroline Mockford, Commissioner, Poverty Truth Commission
Bob Grant, Former Deputy Chair, Scottish Rural Fuel Poverty Task Force
David Sigsworth, Former Chair, Scottish Fuel Poverty Strategic Working Group

Health, Wealth and a Warm Home

Debbie Young, Improving the Cancer Journey Manager, Macmillan
Martin Taulbut, Public Health Information Manager, Scottish Public Health Observatory
Robbie Stevenson, Social Strategy Manager, SGN

Workshops on Thursday 3 November

What is the Role of the Gas Network in supporting Local Communities and Vulnerable People? 
Pamela Goee, Head of Community, SGN

Developing Scotland’s Energy Efficiency Programme
Angus Macleod, The Scottish Government

Closing the Performance Gap
Chris Morgan, Director/Architect and Barbara Lantschner, Building Performance Specialist, John Gilbert Architects

Plenaries on Friday 4 November

Making the Energy Market Work for Us

Susannah Meeke, Director, Remedies, Business and Financial Analysis, Competition and Markets Authority
John MacNeil, Head of Policy and Communications Scotland, Smart Energy GB
Dawn Muspratt, Founding Chief Executive, Our Power Community Benefit Society

Fuel Poverty Across the UK

Pat Austin, Director, NEA Northern Ireland
Jenny Saunders, CEO, NEA
Carole Morgan-Jones, Director, NEA Cymru                                                                                                            

The Importance of Fuel Poverty Research

Andrew Faulk, Independent Consultant
Liz Marquis, Director and Cassandra Dove, Research Officer, Energy Agency
Neil Simcock, University of Manchester

Stewart Wilson, EAS Convener; Norman Kerr, EAS Director; Rebekah Widdowfield, Deputy Director, Better Homes Division, Scottish Government and Denis Kerby, Director of Corporate Communications, SGN ahead of the conference. Photo Credit: Devlin Photo Ltd

After opening the conference with their keynote speeches, the panel take questions. Photo Credit: Devlin Photo Ltd

Bob Grant, Rural Fuel Poverty Task Force; David Sigsworth, Fuel Poverty Strategic Working Group; Jim McCormick, JRF; Caroline Mockford and Elaine Downie, The Poverty Truth Commission discuss fuel poverty. Photo Credit: Devlin Photo Ltd

Conference delegates take the opportunity to network. Photo Credit: Devlin Photo Ltd

EAS Hon Vice Presidents Sir Robert Smith and Jackie Baillie MSP; EAS Director, Norman Kerr; and Hon President, Lord O’Neill of Clackmannan. Photo Credit: Devlin Photo Ltd

MSPs Maurice Golden (Con), Jackie Baillie (Lab), Andy Wightman (Green) and Liam McArthur (LD) debate responses to fuel poverty, chaired by EAS Hon President, Lord O’Neill. Photo Credit: Devlin Photo Ltd

A conference exhibitor discusses business with a delegate. Photo Credit: Devlin Photo Ltd

Delegates share ideas in a conference workshop

Winner of the Best Exhibition Stand Award was InstaGroup. Here are Mark McArthur, Energy Saving Trust who sponsored the award; Chris Pollard, InstaGroup; and Norman Kerr, EAS at the winning stand. Photo Credit: Devlin Photo Ltd